Power Station and Sound Lab Organ



“The organ is without doubt the largest, the boldest and the most magnificent of all instruments created by the human spirit. It is a whole orchestra from which a skilful hand demands everything, on which it can perform everything.”
Honoré de Balzac (1799-1850)
Since the millennium 2000 Hansjörg Albrecht has been intensively engaged in the special field of organ transcription. The organ virtuosos Edwin Henry Lemare, Virgil Fox and Jean Guillou as well as the conductor Leopold Stokowski are role models for both the art of arrangement and interpretation. In the “Art of Organ Transcription”, to which the OehmsClassics label has even dedicated its own CD series with Hansjörg Albrecht, the artist is primarily interested in presenting the organ as a seductive sound laboratory, sounding out its technical limits and – quite incidentally – freeing it from its centuries-old sacred “dust”. Especially works with a pictorial content are particularly well suited to be performed, thus enabling the audience to experience completely new listening dimensions and “organ Sound images”.

“Vivaldi in Dresden” – nominated for the German Record Critics’ Award
“Exploding colors and swirling sonics that would make Stokowski smile. […] Albrecht uses color like a Jackson Pollock drip painting, liebrally, without boundaries, and definitely thinking outside the box. The sounds he creates are simply stunning in their clashing harmonies and brilliant tones […]” (Steven Ritter about “Bach: Six Partitas”)
“This recording takes its place on my select list of recordings of the Concerto for Organ, Strings, and Timpani, alongside the classic Prêtre/Duruflé on EMI, the mighty Dutoit/Hurford on Decca, and the Romantically-expressive Eschenbach/Latry on Ondine. […] Albrecht is easily as impressive in the dual role of conductor/soloist as he was as accompanist[…]” (Ronald E. Grames About “Poulenc: Concerti”)
“Holst: The Planets” – nominated for the Grammy Award

Die Kunst der Orgeltranskription



  • Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 „From the New World“
  • Smetana: Vlatava


  • Bach: “Clavier Übung” Part I-IV | Chaconne | Chromatic Fantasy
  • Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Symphony No. 5 “Reformation”
  • Liszt: Faust Symphony
  • Wagner: Siegfried Idyll | 10 Overtures | Scenes from the Ring


  • Händel: Music for the Royal Fireworks| Eight Great Suites
  • Elgar: Pomp and Circumstance
  • Holst: The Planets


  • Lully: Ballet Suite “Isis”
  • Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique
  • Poulenc: Aubade


  • Uri Brener: Rex Passacaglia


  • Marcello: Oboe Concerto in D Minor
  • Vivaldi: Concerti | The Four Seasons
  • Puccini: „La Tregenda“ (from the opera “Le Villi”)


  • Grieg: Peer Gynt Suites


  • Mozart: Adagio and Fugue in C Minor
  • Bruckner: Symphony No. 0 in D Minor
  • Mahler: Adagio from the 10th Symphony
  • Strauß: Overture to „The Bat“


  • Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition
  • Tchaikowsky: Overture to „Romeo und Julia“ | Nutcracker Suite
  • Rachmaninov: The Isle of the Dead
  • Stravinsky: Three dances from “Petrushka”


  • Barber: Adagio for Strings
  • Copland: Passacaglia